Posted by: emeryhsmithii | May 22, 2008

What would happen if…?


Sunset at Santa Cruz

A long time ago, I heard of a minister preaching the same sermon for several weeks in a row. Finally, one of the elders came to him and asked him why he was so insistently preaching the very same sermon week after week. He was greatly disturbed that something fresh was not being shared in the sermons and felt it his obligation to make the minister aware of his error. The minister graciously received his questioning words of correction and replied, “I will keep preaching the same message until I see that you have heard and received it and begin to practice the admonitions of the Scripture.

What would happen if instead of looking for something new, something to tickle our ears, to pacify our troubled hearts, we began to practice what we have already know? The truth is I have heard in my five decades of life, far more than I can ever put into practice. Actually, all that I have heard could be part of my character if I would choose obedience to that which I know.

Several years ago, I asked my worship pastor what I should do when I know the destination but not how to get there. We commiserated for a while as I knew what I desired was to be understood and to have someone offer a game plan for my next steps. I even called that season in my life “the dilemma of the pickup sticks.” I wanted to remove some things in my life but all of the various troubles interwove in such a fashion that one could not be removed without disturbing others. I did not know what to do.

But at that very time, there was a message being shared by a variety of speakers, a very simple message. “Obedience is doing the very next thing God asked of me.”” Our minds created by an infinite God are complex and astounding but they are no match for the processing capability of the Creator’s mind Himself. And His words were basic, “Do not be afraid, be of good courage, take my yoke upon me, trust in me.” Instead, we want an alternative…not unexpected but with great consequences dealing with a lack of peace and joy in our lives.

So my question today is, what would happen if we did the very next thing God asked us to do as an act of obedience and trust? Would the world be a different place? I think so. God has much to share with us. It is His delight. He is waiting for us to do the next thing.

Be blessed His children.

Leave a Reply

Categories

