Posted by: emeryhsmithii | September 26, 2009

The story of two Kevins


driving down the highway Recently, some things have  shifted in my thinking and I  want to give credit to two  guys that have helped me  realize this…even though  neither of them have any  clue how they have helped  me.

In fact, the first Kevin worked for me almost 18 years ago.  He was an incredibly intelligent man who drove truck for a living but was inciteful and observant in all that he did.  What made him such an inspiration to me was that he would share his thoughts with me, his dispatcher, almost every day…in ways that would aggravate me because no one in our chain of command cared what he thought.  But I loved his use of his talents.  He was so bright!  Only part of his brain kept him driving his 18-wheeler all over the state quite safely while most of his brain was observing the world around him provoking him to come up with innovative ideas.  Even though virtually none of his ideas were ever achieved, the world viewed from the cab of his truck was his observation station.  Thanks Kevin.

Dare I say, the other Kevin is my current boss.  He has helped me more than he will know.  Most of all he is accepting, encouraging and provoking in the best of ways.  He has given me a place to work for almost 3 1/2 years to date.  It is my place to provide resources for my family, a place to express my skills, and a place to reflect.  I need that.  It is not my dream job.  I have spent almost 35 years in the construction, mostly roofing, business in various positions.

Reflecting while driving, a skill I developed from observing Kevin #1, gives me a place to talk to GOD, to myself, while working for Kevin #2.  My duties give me a fair amount of window time.  GOD seems to fill the windshield with abundant joys to view while my iPhone filled with podcasts of wonderful authors speaks to me about the things of God and of life and yes, even a little automotive and tech talk as well.  I love information.  I love thinking about applying it to the world I am centered in.

Maybe today I am in the library of the universe gathering the thoughts, ideas and understanding for my tomorrow.  I am learning to enjoy it as a respite and not just a waiting room.

Thanks Kevin and Kevin and GOD.

Leave a Reply

Categories

