Posted by: emeryhsmithii | January 22, 2011

My 2011 Birthday Wish


Yesterday was January 21st marking the completion of 59 years of living…and today I begin my sixth decade of being on this wonderful earth.

Last year, a friend, Steve Chase, and I started an educational non-profit intending to partner with other non-profits to help overlooked young people and communities around the world.  We started close to home.  In August, 2010, we went to Ensenada, Mexico to visit Greg Amstutz at his terrific ministry to many Baja orphanages.  You can find out more about it here:  http://www.genesisdiez.org/home.html

As I reflect upon my birthday and the things that make this day special I realize more than ever that it is my desire to give more than receive.  So many wonderful friends have given to my family and various needs we have had.  I could not have made it without their help.  Maybe that is why I feel so passionate about helping others now.

Once a year in February, Genesis Diez has a gala in San Diego.  Della and I along with Steve and Mary will be attending this to stand in solidarity with the mission and the people of Genesis Diez.

But I have a desire.  I need your help to make it happen.  We want to send a large gift to Genesis Diez to help them reach their 2011 goals.  Would you prayerfully consider sending a monetary gift to:

Bearing Their Burdens

1700 Airline Hwy

PMB 415

Hollister, CA 95023

We will take every contribution to this event next month.  It will help orphan children and a relocated native Indian community in the Ensenada area that you do not know and very likely will never meet…until Heaven.  Thank you for reading this request and letting God direct you.  We so appreciate every friend we have!

Your friend celebrating his birthday,

Emery Smith

Leave a Reply

Categories

