Posted by: emeryhsmithii | January 2, 2014

A Smile in the Daily


A Smile in the Daily

I admit I love Facebook…it is a source of cheer and joy and insight to me in my daily journey.

A long time ago, as a little boy, I like so many chose what I thought I would like from a very limited catalog of personal experience. Then the Sear’s Christmas Catalog came once a year to my home and I would explore so many options I had not yet seen. New toys, new ways to play.  Yes, it was consumerism, but I also discovered that I lived in a small part of a very large world. Over the years, I learned to broaden my tastes and likes and exploration became a core of my life. I am still in the life-long learning phase of my life six decades later.  I remember thinking that was just a part of the school system of my childhood and would pass.  It did not. Curiosity became a deep wish to fulfill. What next could I learn?

Food helped me apply this quite practically. Once I disliked white rice and most anything that went with it. Then I was given a trip to the Far East courtesy of the US Navy.  I learned to love food from its sources. What a delight!

More importantly, I learned that diversity of flavor enriches my life – I found people of many nations bring so much to the richness of my life that I walk around with a big smile most of the time. I do not know your life nor have I the time to deeply investigate what makes you unique…I wish I did…maybe, that is what eternity is all about. But when you share a little of who you are, I become richer. Thank you for making me a wealthy man.

There is a video linked in the title above. Go there..

it shows how the unexpected can bring joys unimaginable in the daily of our lives. Look for these joys; they are all around.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Leave a Reply

Categories

